Swaddle Transition Made Easy | Zipadee-Zip Review and Giveaway!

A few weeks ago, Brielle started rolling over in her sleep and being that she was still being swaddled, it terrified me that she would find herself stuck face down. Immediately we stopped swaddling her and our restful nights ceased as well. Our once restful sleeper who was waking only once/twice a night to nurse and falling back to sleep immediately, was waking up every 45-60 minutes. I wanted to cry. I immediately envisioned another terrible sleeper (Aiden woke every 2 hours until he was a year old and never slept through the night consistently until 20 months old). I dreaded the thought of having another rough year of sleep.

zippy-feature-correct

 

I was finding that Brielle was waking herself at the 45-60 minute mark by splaying her arms out and since she was in a phase of light sleep (read more about baby sleep cycles here), she would wake every single time. Not only was she waking up after short periods of sleep, she was waking every time we laid her down. I felt defeated. After about 3 days of attempting over and over again to make non-swaddling work, I desperately did an online search at 3am. I stumbled onto the Zipadee-Zip website and reached out to them after reading about their sleep suits.

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 4.30.07 PM

The Zipadee-Zip, once featured on Shark Tank, is the perfect swaddle solution. The Zipadee-zip is a wearable blanket that still somewhat resembles the atmosphere of the womb. It kind of looks like an elongated starfish. The slight-resistance in the arm span is just enough to help prevent babies from waking themselves due to a startle complex and allows a sounder sleep. It’s small enough to prevent the startle, but roomy enough that baby can roll over easily and can even still use their hands to pick up pacifiers, toys, or even suck on the fabric/fingers (that’s what my little girl does). I love that there are so many adorable prints to choose from too, along with different fabric choices depending on the season.

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 4.11.02 PM

The day that it arrived in the mail, I practically skipped back from the mailbox with glee and hope. I was desperate for a good night of sleep. That night we did our normal bedtime routine, put her in the Zipadee-zip, I nursed her and she was out cold. YES! No fight to escape, no startling upon laying down, just pure, sweet sleep. I quickly passed out myself and was shocked to wake 6 HOURS later when she woke up for the first time. I was shocked (and felt so rested that I nearly could have been up for the day). We quickly nursed and fell back asleep for another 4 hours.

zippy5

zippy3

zippy2

I couldn’t believe it. 

I thought maybe it was a fluke (I know, I’m a skeptic), but the nights that followed had the same pattern. I’m officially a Zipadee-Zip fan. I SO wished that we had purchased one of these for my son as I wonder if he would have helped him sleep better as a baby. When bedtime rolls around and we put on her Zippy, she immediately calms and knows that it’s time to sleep. I’ve recently began using them for naptime and we’re having success there too. I’ll definitely be sure to keep some larger sizes on hand for the next growth spurt.

zippy4

zippy1

If you are looking for a product to help with the swaddle transition, I definitely recommend getting a Zipadee-zip! The slight resistance in the arms “wing span” has made a world of difference in helping my baby sleep. Brielle loves it because it provides a cozy sleep atmosphere, but it’s still roomy enough for her to move and wiggle around. It’s a must have item for those babies who fight sleep!

And now the fun part…GIVEAWAY! Enter to win a Zipadee-Zip of your choice!

Zipadee-Zip Giveaway

Be sure to check out all of their social channels below, especially their facebook to enter their monthly giveaways!

Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

Disclaimer: I was sent this product to try and share my thoughts with my readers. As always, all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Spread the love
By | 2016-11-16T13:52:16+00:00 July 18th, 2016|family, reviews|54 Comments

54 Comments

  1. Liz July 21, 2016 at 7:31 pm

    I’m not a mom so I don’t know much about swaddling, but she’s super cute :). Hopefully she will be sleeping better!

  2. Kim S July 21, 2016 at 8:58 pm

    You know I’m always looking for good nap and sleep blanket/swaddles for Emmy! I’d love to try this one out!

  3. Corina July 21, 2016 at 9:32 pm

    Oh I love sleep sacks, it helped our first sleep SO much better simply because it kept him warm all night! Blankets don’t stay on babies!

    • Corina July 21, 2016 at 9:33 pm

      I love the colorful giraffes print!

  4. Jennifer July 21, 2016 at 9:32 pm

    How cute! I’ll have to pass this along to some of my “mom friends”!

  5. Caroline harries July 21, 2016 at 11:02 pm

    I would love to win this! I love the pattern you chose 🙂

  6. Christina July 21, 2016 at 11:42 pm

    Adorable! I’ve never seen this brand before! Great find!

  7. Rachel Dean July 22, 2016 at 12:09 am

    She is adorable. So glad you found this product!

  8. Amanda July 22, 2016 at 12:20 am

    I’ve been wanting to try one! Thanks for sharing Amber!

  9. Melissa Bushman July 22, 2016 at 12:24 am

    We love love love our zippy! I became a believer when Lacey was 5 months and now at a year she still loves her zippy! She actually likes to carry it around like a lovey and use it for peek-a-boo! I’m thinking about getting a large or going for the flying squirrel next! I just can’t decide!

  10. Cookb823 July 22, 2016 at 1:00 am

    Ooooo NEED THIS!! My 3 month old is starting to roll over but not consistently and not in bed yet. So the swaddle remains but I’m terrified to take him out. Would love to try one of these starfishy contraptions!! 🙂

  11. Melissa July 22, 2016 at 1:12 am

    We have been using the Zipadeezip since my little guy was 3 months (now almost 8 months). We had to buy a second because he practically lived in it for a while. I can’t say enough good things, and they have excellent customer service!

  12. Lisa Eirene July 22, 2016 at 1:36 am

    We soooo need this!!!

  13. Sonja July 22, 2016 at 2:37 am

    I would love one of these! So cute and practical!! Baby is due Nov 13!

  14. Crystal Wachoski July 22, 2016 at 11:56 am

    All of my kids slept in those. I LOVE them! They keep them nice and warm.

  15. Amy Howard July 22, 2016 at 12:50 pm

    I LOVE Bluebird melody!

  16. Aimee July 22, 2016 at 12:51 pm

    Just tried the zippy this week and I am loving it!!

  17. Jody July 22, 2016 at 1:04 pm

    I wish I knew about these when my twins were born. These are so cute. I love the Over The Moon one. My twins have a horrible night sleeping. I hope one of these will help change that.

  18. Rejeana O July 22, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    Nautical Stripes, please! 🙂

  19. Terry Serio July 22, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    We love these Zipadee Zips!!!!! Danielle sleeps much longer when she is in hers!

  20. Kerry July 22, 2016 at 1:21 pm

    My twins love their zippys and I would be thrilled to win one: 🙂

  21. JBriggs July 22, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    I would probably choose cheeky monkey! So many cute patterns!

  22. Jean July 22, 2016 at 1:57 pm

    We thought our son would be sleeping in the Infant cozy of the Pack n Play forever. We even joked that he would need to take it to college with him because we could not get him to sleep in his crib. We have been using a Zippy for just over a week and it has been an easy transition. It is truly amazing!!

  23. Michelle July 22, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    We are going through a sleep regression and teething. I’ve been looking for something that isn’t swaddling for my LO… I wonder if this would help us… I’m going to have to try one!

  24. Aileen (Aileen Cooks Blog) July 22, 2016 at 2:08 pm

    I’ve heard such good things about the Zipadee ZipI’ll have to try it with my next babe (due in 8 weeks!)

  25. Michelle M July 22, 2016 at 2:16 pm

    Amazing sounding product. Thanks.

  26. Jodi July 22, 2016 at 2:20 pm

    I love the fox pattern! Although, they don’t have it in a small. My son loves his cotton zippy, so would probably go with the fire trucks one!

  27. Stacey July 22, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    I remember seeing this on Shark Tank and making a mental note to get this when I have kids!

  28. Lara July 22, 2016 at 4:02 pm

    I love the zipadeezip!!! My daughter started wearing one at 2 months old, and still wears it every time she sleeps at 9 months old.

  29. Samantha Carling July 22, 2016 at 4:05 pm

    We could definitely use a zipadeezip.
    We’ve lost so much sleep, most days I feel like a zombie!
    One day we will all catch up on sleep right?! Loved reading your review!

  30. Ashley J July 22, 2016 at 4:08 pm

    Love the sleepy tepee print and the “sky’s the limit” print. We love our zippy and want to get another soon so we are ready for the next growth spurt!

  31. Erin Klema | The Epicurean Traveler July 22, 2016 at 4:38 pm

    The good night & sleep tight pattern is really cute. Some many of my friends are having babies now. I’ll have to turn them onto this!

  32. Amy July 22, 2016 at 6:42 pm

    I have a two year old who had no sleep issues! I’m now pregnant with our second baby and I’m scared for the sleep situation! I would love to try a zipadeezip!!

  33. Amie July 22, 2016 at 8:20 pm

    This is awesome! I absolutely loved the Velcro swaddled with my little ones and had a horrible time transitioning out of it. I will definitely be trying this is we go for a third child!

  34. Elizabeth K July 22, 2016 at 9:30 pm

    We LOVE our zippy! My twin boys were terrible sleepers and I so wish we had had these for them. It is making such a difference for my daughter!

  35. Christine July 22, 2016 at 9:33 pm

    I love the zipadee-zip! The cheeky monkey print is adorable.

  36. linda spiker July 22, 2016 at 10:10 pm

    Transitions can be hard on baby and mama!

  37. Amanda July 22, 2016 at 10:17 pm

    If I decide to have another baby, I am going to need this!

  38. Victoria July 23, 2016 at 12:16 am

    I would love do have the tiny turtle print to match my daughter’s sea turtle themed nursery! She’ll soon outgrow her 6mo Zippadee Zips

  39. Ali Polizzi July 23, 2016 at 12:45 am

    I would love sleepy teepee. I shad my eye on that print for a while, it’s so cute!! We love zippys around here!

  40. Christine July 23, 2016 at 2:15 am

    Yes!! My Logan loves his Zippee! I recommend it whenever I can.

  41. KimmyN July 23, 2016 at 5:11 am

    We love our zipadeezips and would love to win the next size up (large) in starry green.

  42. Sam July 23, 2016 at 7:48 am

    A very unique product that seems like all families will find useful.

  43. Meg Cook Crawford July 23, 2016 at 11:01 am

    What a smart product!! Helps with that transition and keeps babes warm at night?! I always worry about their little hands and feet getting cold – I know mine do! That elephant print is so cute.

  44. Alicia Sears July 23, 2016 at 1:24 pm

    I ordered a zipadee earlier this week and it just arrived in the mail today. I can’t wait to see if we get some restful sleep tonight!

  45. Jackie Bateman July 23, 2016 at 1:33 pm

    My twins love their zipadee. I love the moon print! They are 10 moths old and sleep 12 hours in them! I only have 2 and they are getting pretty worn since we love them so much.

  46. Brianna July 23, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    These are so cute!!!!!! I will have to look at these with my next one 🙂

  47. Natasha July 23, 2016 at 2:35 pm

    I love the goodnight moon pattern. 🙂

  48. Jodi Lou July 23, 2016 at 2:45 pm

    I’m interested in trying the Zipadee Zip (we’re successfully using sleep sacks) but I worry about having to transition her out of it later…. Have you had any trouble or did you just move to the flying squirrel?

  49. Dandi D July 23, 2016 at 3:21 pm

    I would love to get one of these for my daughter and I would like the Starry Purples print!

  50. Ron Leyba July 23, 2016 at 4:22 pm

    Love this zipadee! And oh, the baby is too cute!

  51. Danielle July 24, 2016 at 1:24 am

    I’d get the It’s a Bugs Life print!

  52. Tamara Goyette July 25, 2016 at 8:54 pm

    I’ve been using a Zipadee-Zip since before their big deal, and I absolutley swear by it!

  53. Katlynn July 26, 2016 at 3:34 am

    LOVE the bluebird melody print! The zipadee looks like the perfect transition for my baby to go to after her love to dream swaddles!

Comments are closed.